Students and Faculty Honoured at Dean’s Reception

Media Release: June 7, 2012

Photo credit: Arti Maharaj

On May 29, 2012 the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of British Columbia (UBC) celebrated the graduating class of 2011-2012 at the Annual Dean’s Reception. 

“This special occasion gives us the chance to applaud the achievements of our graduating students with their family and friends,” says Robert Sindelar, dean and professor, UBC Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences. The reception, held in the Whistler Ballroom at the Riverrock Casino Resort, was attended by more than 300 people.

Numerous awards were presented to graduating students at the reception. The Merck Frosst Pharmacy Doctoral Prize, awarded to the head of the Doctor of Pharmacy graduating class, and the Peter Jewesson Graduate Scholarship in Pharmacy, were both presented to Dr. Kyle Wilby. The Dean E.L. Woods Memorial Prize and the Head of Graduating Class, Bachelor of Science in Pharmacy Award were presented to Winnie Man Yee Ng. The Bristol-Myers Squibb Prize in Pharmacy, won by Su Fei Yue, and the Pfizer Canada Leadership Award in Pharmaceutical Sciences, won by Karen Hoang, were also presented at the event.

The reception celebrated the achievements of instructors and professors as well, honouring five faculty members for their excellence in teaching. Undergraduate Faculty Teaching Awards were presented to Tony Seet, Dr. K. Wayne Riggs, Dr. Patricia Gerber, and Tessa Nicholl. Dr. Arun Verma was recognized with the Graduating Class - Master Teacher Award.

Established in 1946, the Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences at the University of British Columbia advances knowledge, health outcomes and the profession of pharmacy leading to enhanced societal benefit and optimal patient care. With more than 5,000 alumni, the Faculty specializes in pharmacy education, research and practice.

- 30 -

Contact Information

Jimi Galvão, Acting Director, Communications & Marketing
Tel: 604-827-3309

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
2405 Wesbrook Mall
Vancouver, BC, Canada V6T 1Z3
Tel (Dean’s Office): 604.822.2343

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia