UBC Pharmacy Alum Receives National Research Grant

Source: ASHP Foundation

Media Release: September 6, 2012

BETHESDA, Md. (August 29, 2012) ― Kari L. Olson, BSPharm, PharmD, FCCP, BCPS, has been awarded a 2012 ASHP Foundation Pharmacy Practice Model Initiative (PPMI) Demonstration Grant. Dr. Olson is a clinical pharmacy specialist in pharmacy practice-based research and cardiovascular risk reduction at Kaiser Permanente Colorado in Aurora. She received her doctorate degree in pharmacy from the University of British Columbia.

The PPMI Demonstration Grants Program supports demonstration projects related to the assumptions, beliefs and recommendations from the November 2010 ASHP/ASHP Foundation PPMI Summit. The overarching goal of the PPMI is to increase pharmacists’ participation on patient care teams as the professional who is responsible and accountable for patients’ medication-related outcomes while delegating all medication distribution functions that do not require clinical judgment to qualified pharmacy technicians and technology.

Dr. Olson will use her grant to conduct a study entitled “Use of Pharmacy Technician to Streamline Post-Fracture Care Provided by Clinical Pharmacy Specialists in a Primary Care Setting.” This study will explore how to incorporate pharmacy technicians into a clinical pharmacy service focused on osteoporosis management. Dr. Olson will be assisted by Adriane N. Irwin, MS, PharmD, a clinical pharmacy research fellow at Kaiser Permanente Colorado.

“For the past 13 years, I have conducted practice-based research to evaluate how pharmacists, working with multidisciplinary teams, can improve outcomes of the patients they serve,” says Dr. Olson, who is one of only three pharmacists nationwide to receive a grant from this program. “One barrier pharmacists have reported to participating in practice-based research is time. This grant dovetails perfectly with this research focus. Exploring opportunities for expanded roles for pharmacy technicians will open doors for continued exploration and evaluation of expanded roles for pharmacists. I am excited to undertake this research and look forward to learning the results.”

“At the ASHP/ASHP Foundation PPMI Summit, it was determined that advancing the role of pharmacy technicians is central to allowing pharmacists to practice at the ‘top of their license,’” says Dr. Irwin. “While it has become routine for technicians to take on significant roles in the drug distribution process, the use of pharmacy technicians to enhance clinical services is largely unexplored. I am excited by this project because, if we find success, we can use these results as a platform that could be used to increase pharmacist capacity in other areas, such as quality initiatives, and expand clinical pharmacy practice.”

For More Information
Information about the PPMI Demonstration Grant Program and the abstracts of the research studies funded by this year’s program can be found at www.ashpfoundation.org/ppmigrants.  

About the Foundation
The ASHP Research and Education Foundation (www.ashpfoundation.org) was established in 1968 by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists (www.ashp.org) as a nonprofit, tax-exempt organization. As the philanthropic arm of ASHP, our vision is that patient outcomes improve because of the leadership and clinical skills of pharmacists, as vital members of the health care team, accountable for safe and effective medication use. Our mission is to improve the health and well-being of patients
in health systems through appropriate, safe and effective medication use.

- 30 -

Contact Information
Daniel J. Cobaugh, PharmD
Vice President
ASHP Research and Education Foundation
Bethesda, Md.

Bethany L. Coulter, MA
Director of Communications and Events
ASHP Research and Education Foundation
Bethesda, Md.

a place of mind, The University of British Columbia

Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
2405 Wesbrook Mall
Vancouver, BC, Canada V6T 1Z3
Tel (Dean’s Office): 604.822.2343

Emergency Procedures | Accessibility | Contact UBC | © Copyright The University of British Columbia